Wednesday, September 1, 2010

Penang PKR stable, says state chief

Penang PKR stable, says state chief
Bernard Cheah

GEORGE TOWN (Sept 1, 2010): The Penang PKR has gone through a detoxification process to cleanse it of negative elements in preparation for the upcoming “direct” party elections.

State PKR chairman Datuk Mansor Othman said today the state party as well as the Penang Pakatan Rakyat (PR) coalition are in stable condition with regard to attacks by “enemies” who often cause ruckus.
“The state party is stable, despite what had happened in the past,” he said. “All the bad people are out”

He was referring to several PKR members, including former state Deputy Chief Minister and Penanti assemblyman Fairus Khairuddin who had quit his post and left the party in 2009 to join Barisan Nasional and Bayan Baru MP Datuk Seri Zahrain Mohd Hashim and Nibong Tebal MP Tan Tee Beng, who left the party to be independent MPs early this year.

Mansor said the cleansing process within the party is over, and no untoward incident can occur in the upcoming election scheduled to be held between Sept 17 and Nov 21.

When asked about the remaining “bad apples” in the state party, Mansor replied that “these ‘sisa-sisa’ (dead wood) would not be capable of doing anything. These people are non-issues and will not be taken seriously.”

Mansor, who is also contesting one of the three vice-president’s posts in the party elections, said the direct election, which is the first of its kind in the country, is a good trend in nurturing democracy.

“It is a healthy development for the Penang PKR as well as the other state party,” he said.

He said there were almost 30,000 members from 13 state branches in Penang who were eligible to vote in the election.

When asked if the BN could take over the state in the next general election, Mansor said the state government is “very strong and stable”.

A Chinese daily had reported that Penang Gerakan claimed it could recapture Pantai Jerejak and Batu Uban in the next general election. Both seats were was won by PKR in 2008.